About GAMA & Staff


The Bernalillo County Medical Society, with fifteen members, was established in the winter of 1893-94 as the first component society of the New Mexico Territorial Medical Society. In 1970 the County Society became known as the Albuquerque and Bernalillo County Medical Association and boasted 396 members. In response to the expansion of the area served by the Association beyond just Bernalillo County, the name of the organization was again changed in 1985 to the Greater Albuquerque Medical Association. Mission: "To promote excellence in patient care by identifying and solving physician practice problems in any practice environment through advocacy, education and collegiality." The Greater Albuquerque Medical Association (GAMA) is a private, incorporated (501 C 6), non-profit, dues- supported membership organization. Membership is voluntary and limited to licensed doctors of medicine (MD) and doctors of osteopathic medicine (DO) residing and practicing in the greater Albuquerque area.

Officers and Staff

The Board of Trustees sets the policies and directs the affairs of the Association. There are 12 standing members of the Board: the five Officers, six Trustees and the Immediate Past President. Officers serve a term of one year; Trustees serve two years. In 2010 the membership amended the Articles of Incorporation and the Bylaws to allow voting privileges for the Councilors that represent GAMA members at the New Mexico Medical Society Council meetings. The number of Councilors representing GAMA is determined by the number of members. The President of the Association may appoint advisors or consultants to the Board. Such specially appointed members shall serve one year and shall not be voting members of the Board.

Mihaela Bujoi, MD, President
Paul Sanchez, MD, President Elect
Kirby Gabrys, MD, Vice President
Jeffrey Dorf, MD, Secretary
Samuel MacBride, MD, Treasurer
Tony B Salazar, MD, Immediate Past President

Heather Brislen, MD
Mark Epstein, MD
Aaron Geswaldo, DO
Mel Peralta, MD
Lance Wilson, MD
Angelina Villas-Adams, MD

Mark Chui, MD
Robert Federici, MD
Annette Fontaine, MD
Howard Gogel, MD
David Stryker, MD

Sylvia Lyon - Executive Director
PH: 505.821.4583
Email: sylvia.lyon@gamamed.org

Jennifer Valenti - Administrative Assistant
PH: 505.821.4583
Email: jennifer.valenti@gamamed.org